Sojourning

Standard

staying temporarily

moving on and through

ever shifting viewpoints

what shall I take?

what shall I leave behind?

sojourning smith

 
     I embark 1st March on a two week sojourn to Yorkshire and Lancashire on a Life Long Learning course “Developing Creative Practice Across Borders”.  In this case I will be sojourning with ten others, mostly strangers to me, embarking on this creative writing fortnight practice.   This is a Leonardo da Vinci Life Long Learning experience facilitated by the Cavan Arts office, the EU and Leargas.
 
 
     What will happen to my writing without the daily distractions of virtual internet world,  my own context of jaw dropping scenic beauty and rural splendour, the domestic procrastinations that quell creative writing time. Once I get to the Arvon Centre in Yorkshire will I go on a book binge reading jag when I get an eyeful of their library?  Will I dry up before the blank page? Will I have the courage to write anything, even the really bad, poorly formed sentences that get past the internal censor?
 
 
     Once I get to Manchester will the country mouse go de-mob mad in the big city? Or will I hole up in the hotel room tapping away at the keyboard, once again hard wired into wifi?
 
 
     A sojourn is by definition temporary.  Some people go on creative writing retreats. Rather than going in I am venturing out from my rather splendid rural isolation. Let’s see what crossing some borders does to my consciousness and see what decides to communicate with the sojourning.
 
Leave a Reply

