Day 8 NaPoWriMo2017

Standard

Week 2’s theme begins with repetition.

Repetitions

 

I am old, grown upon

Massacres in far flung fields

Where napalm and Agent Orange

Rained onto the jungle

 

I am old, grown upon

Massacres in far flung fields

The rubble and demolition

Of refugee camps in The Lebanon

 

I am old, grown upon

Mourning the cruelty in calculating

Famine in far flung fields

In Sudan, Eritrea, Darfur …

 

I am old, grown up to

Know a few things.

Lamentation is to care

To hunger and thirst for justice

 

I am old, grown enough

To see the waste of fear

The terrible retribution

How anger eats the soul

 

I am old, grown perishable

I know it in my fragile bones

Weep at the careless men’s perverse

Pleasure in their death machines

 

I am old. Our love needs

To be greater than our fear

For this is the only legacy

I would wish upon the world

 

I am old, Earth and I

Together with our anguish

Thrill at crop cycles, wet and dry seasons

The inevitability of creation

 

I am old, the Earth more ancient still

Stalwart as standing stones

We survivors

Of stupidity, hubris and greed

Leave a Reply

