Day 11 NaPoWriMo2017

Standard

Today’s challenge – The Bop! ” the Bop is a kind of combination sonnet + song. Like a Shakespearan sonnet, it introduces, discusses, and then solves (or fails to solve) a problem. Like a song, it relies on refrains and repetition”

I actually wrote two poems. Up uncharacteristically early, my first effort was not really to my satisfaction. Then the internet went down. So I tried again. It may not really bop, but I think I may have managed to write my first sonnet!

Rx

The way we live now – obese, addicted

and over our collective sleepy heads,

in debt to octane, oligarchs and dead

from the eyes down.  Industry evicted.

The buckles rusted, belt redundant now.

Aground.  Or drowning . Not enough life boats

to go around.

Connection is the cure.

 

Despair has a terminal prognosis.

Connect. Try the trees before the woodland,

Or take up colour, bold instead of bland.

Persist.  Surprise yourself.  And focus.

Again I say, Focus! Be here and now.

There is plenty enough to keep afloat.

The scientific hope to share around:

Connection is the cure.

Leave a Reply

